Social media platform Facebookhas introduced a new update to its Android app that allows users to choose whether or not to share their location with Facebook when they are not using the app. Currently, Facebook’s Android app offers a single on/off switch for location services. This allowed Facebook to track user’s location even when the app is not used. This is set to change after the new update as it will give a new option to disable background location tracking. So far this feature was available to iOS users only.

The latest update comes handy while using Facebook features like Nearby Friends. It allows Facebook friends to share their locations with each other and asked users to enable location history till date. This allowed Facebook to track your location even when not using app and further store a history of your past locations. With the update, Facebook users will have a dedicated way to choose whether or not to share their location when you aren’t using the app.

location-settings_android.

Announcing the new update, Facebook said ‘Today we’re announcing an update to Facebook’s location controls on Android to give people more choice over how we collect location information and how we store it. We’re not making any changes to the choices you’ve previously made nor are we collecting any new information as a result of this update.’

This means that the users who have already opted to turn their Location History setting “on,” the new background location setting is “on.” however, those who have turned Location History “off”, the new background location setting is “off.” It will remain off even for those who never turned it on in the first place.

[“source=timesofindia.indiatimes”]